Hungry Cub Irish Cream Liquor (Dairy-free option, Refined Sugar-free)

Baileys has long been my favourite liquor, and seems to be a huge hit in the world out there. It’s smooth and scrumptious on its own, with ice, over ice cream, or incorporated into some phenomenal dessert. A winner in every way.

I recently discovered that it’s actually a pretty simple to whip up a homemade version . Why I didn’t find this out when I was in my “strictly dairy-free” phase, I do not know. But I know it now so I will not complain 🙂
As soon as I learned that Irish Whiskey was in fact the base of said favourite liquor, I went about designing a refined sugar free version to whip up at home (with a dairy-free counterpart for those of you who like/need to avoid dairy).

Check out the recipe. It truly is simple.

Now, because I don’t use sweetened condensed milk or eggs, this Irish Cream is a bit “thinner” than the bottle-store-bought counterpart, but it still packs that luscious punch and can be served whichever way you like it.

For a bit more luxurious creaminess, I add a couple scoops of my homemade vanilla bean ice cream (either dairy, or dairy-free depending on the mood or availability!)
It’s optional. Don’t add any, or add your favourite.  Ooooor hit me up and I just might be able to write up the recipe for my own concoction ❤

Hungry Cub Irish Cream Liquor (makes 1&1/2 cups)

1/2 cup cream/coconut cream
1/2 cup Irish Whiskey (I used Jameson)
2 tbsp strongly brewed coffee
2 tbsp pure maple syrup
1/4 tsp vanilla extract

2 scoops homemade ice cream (vanilla bean or chocolate) – optional (use coconut milk ice cream if requiring dairy-free)

Place the cream/coconut cream, whiskey, coffee, maple syrup and vanilla in a blender or shaker. Beat together until well combined. If using ice cream, add and beat again to mix through. Pour into a glass bottle. Serve or refrigerate until required.

Is delicious served over ice or a scoop of your favourite vanilla ice cream/”nice cream”.

Leave a Reply

