Passionfruit Instant Ice Cream (Refined Sugar Free – Fruit Sweetened)

Ice cream. I never tire of it. I don’t think I ever will. Ice cream is a lifetime companion.

I’ve been making and eating various flavours of ice cream ALL. SUMMER. LONG. And now that Autumn is here… there’s no sign of stopping.
For quite some time I was restricted to eating dairy-free (breastfeeding reasons) but now our little dude is coping well with the goodness, and I have to be honest; I’m LOVING having dairy back in my life. Consider this recipe a celebration of that fact 🙂
(So – sorry for those of you who are dairy-free right now, because this recipe isn’t, but check out the rest of the blog for options to suit your needs!)

Several times I’d spied frozen passionfruit at my supermarkets, usually as I reached past to grab berries (for berry ice cream of course – what else?!). Recently I decided to try something a little different. And BOY was I pleased!
This GLORIOUS ice cream combo has to be high among my list of favourites. It’s creamy, tangy, naturally sweet, and sooooo moorish.

So get to it, it’s a goodie ❤

NOTE: This recipe is one to be played with. If you don’t have the exact quantities – don’t stress. Add a little more, or a little less of whatever you like. Instant ice cream is quite forgiving! When you’ve tried this method feel free to switch it up a bit – add some frozen mango to the mix, or berries instead of passionfruit… whatever you like (personally I’m hanging out for that coming season of feijoas, but I’m sure I’ll be making this variety for quite some time!)…

Passionfruit Instant Ice Cream (makes approx 1.3L)

4 bananas, sliced and frozen
250g frozen passionfruit pulp (if using from fresh; freeze them in an ice cube tray. If buying; you can find packs of frozen cubes in the frozen fruit section of your supermarket)
3 tbsp full-fat cream cheese
3 tbsp thick unsweetened greek yoghurt
1/2 cup cream
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
tiny pinch salt

if you prefer it sweeter try adding 1/2 tbsp honey, but I think it’s perfect as is 🙂

Place the frozen bananas and passionfruit pulp cubes in your food processor. Blitz until crumbly.
In a bowl, mix together the cream cheese, yoghurt, cream, vanilla, and salt.
Pour this into the food processor.
Blitz on high until it comes together to a smooth, soft-serve like consistency mix.
Eat straight away, OR immediately spoon into a freezer container and freeze to your desired consistency.
It retains the creaminess superbly so will keep well in the freezer for many days. Just remove to sit on the bench for 5-10mins to soften a little before serving.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

