Chocolate Shell Sauce (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

Was anyone else delighted by that chocolate magic shell sauce as a child?! That amazing stuff that went hard when you poured it all over your ice cream – it actually seemed rather magic!
I have such fond memories of the little brown bottles. The anticipation while warming it in the microwave. The fascination while watching it harden upon the cold ice cream.

A while ago I decided to make my own Hungry Cub version; one that is made up of real ingredients, and a simple process to put together.

After a couple of attempts, I hit the jackpot 😀 We watched in owe as the smooth sauce formed a hardened shell over my cold dessert 🙂 We delighted in the crack as we broke through to the soft ice cream beneath!

I now use this recipe a LOT. Mostly because I eat ice cream a LOT. But it’s my go-to concoction for chocolate bar coverings and ice block coatings. It’s a firm favourite! Basically, the recipe is going to have a loooooong life in our kitchen!
So let the magic ensue…


Chocolate Shell Sauce – serves 2-4

2 tbsp coconut oil
2 tbsp cocoa
1-2 tbsp pure maple syrup
pinch salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract – optional

Place the coconut oil in a small saucepan and heat over a medium heat (while gently whisking) until it is all melted.
Remove from the heat, add the cocoa, pure maple syrup, salt, and vanilla extract (if using). Mix gently until well combined. Allow to cool slightly.
Serve over your favourite ice cream (or try instant banana ice cream or this one here 🙂 )

This is a small batch I often make when it’s just the two of us, but if I know we’ll be enjoying ice cream several nights in a row, or if I’m planning on coating ice blocks I often double the recipe and store the extra in the fridge.

Note: With leftover, I recommend storing in a small bowl/jar in the refrigerator. It will hardened but you can warm it (bring it back to liquid consistency) by placing the bowl or jar within a larger bowl of hot recently-boiled water.

Enjoy!!

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Shell Sauce (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

Leave a Reply

