Ninja Nibbles (Gluten, Grain, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chicken nibbles. To me they’re an icon of my childhood. Something I remember enjoying since eons ago! My favourite concoction was always the honey-soy variety, so here is my Hungry Cub play on such memories…

Nibbles are different sections of the wing of a chicken and are totally moreish when cooked until caramelising with a finger-licking marinade.
This marinade does just that. It’s full of punchy flavour (and goodness!!) and is lip-smackingly, paper-towel-requireingly, lusciously messy. I’ve added a good whack of ginger and turmeric to the mix for extra oomphf and nourishment – I’d definitely recommend using the fresh roots over dried powder, the flavour of fresh can’t be beaten! (These days you can find fresh turmeric root in most veggie stores, whole food shops, and even standard supermarkets – my local New World stocks some beaut turmeric!)
My husband  loves chowing down on these during a rugby match. Something about game watching just requires finger-food right?!

Our Ninja Nibbles are ideal for an easy pot-luck style plate, a dish amongst the party food, a snack while watching a game, or a side to a gorgeous salad. And as the weather warms you could also try whacking a few on the BBQ! However you have them, I’d recommend digging in hands and all!! Enjoy xx

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ninja Nibbles (serves 5-6 as a meal or many more if taking for potluck!)

1kg chicken nibbles (perferrably free-range)
1 tbsp finely grated fresh ginger
1 tbsp finely grated fresh turmeric
1 tbsp finely diced fresh garlic
3 tbsp tamari sauce (OR coconut aminos, OR soy sauce if you’re ok with gluten)
1 tbsp sesame oil
2 tsp brown rice syrup (OR runny honey)
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1/4-1/2 tsp chilli flakes – optional (omit if nightshade-free)

Place all ingredients in a large bowl and mix together well until nicely combined. Cover to seal with a lid or wrap. Refrigerate 6+ hours or overnight.

When ready to cook, preheat the oven to 180’C/350’F fanbake. Line an oven tray with baking paper.
Place the nibbles on the tray in a single layer. Bake for 20-30 mins until the nibbles are turning caramelised-brown in colour and the meat breaks easily away from the bone when pressed.

Serve up and be prepared for finger-licking-messiness!! SCRUMdelish!

2 thoughts on “Ninja Nibbles (Gluten, Grain, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

    • hungrycub says:

      I haven’t tried them with chicken thighs (though sounds DELICIOUS!) but I would guess the cooking time would be roughly the same. I like the nibbles to get to that nice caramelised stage, but with thighs I think 30mins would ensure a thorough cooking through of the thicker meat. Worth doing a tester piece though to cut through and see. I think I might try it out myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

