Beef Stroganoff (Gluten, Grain & Dairy Free)

Beef Stroganoff

If you’re a parent, you’ve probably heard of ‘hell hour’. If you haven’t heard the term, I’m betting you’ve experienced it.
It’s that hour (or three sometimes in my case) before the dinner-bath-bed routine; that time when dinner is not quite ready but tummies are starting to grow, where energy is drooping but spirits are getting hyped, when I just. need. a. little. space. to. please. stir. the. food!
That time where everything is hanging on a thread and all hell can break loose.

That time is my nemesis.

Day by day, I’m learning to pack arsenal for hell hour.
I’ve made boxes of play dough to whip out (silently ignoring the ever-increasing bits of play dough mushed into my carpet).
I’ve put magnets on the fridge (which sometimes backfires into flying shrapnel as I serve up dinner)
I’ve invested in interesting flap-books (because apparently they’re more fun to do “BY MYSELF!!”)
And my biggest ammo… I’m working to have dinner ready on time (thanks to a little Miss who loves structure way more than I ever manage)

As I stare down the barrel of late afternoon; I love a recipe that’s a simple, tasty, nutritious fix. This stroganoff is just that.
It’s dairy free and fits nice and snug within my current ‘no-nightshade’ style of eating. Success!
Beef Stroganoff is not a gorgeous dish by any means, but it’s delicious comfort food – which is totally my style! And the best part??.. It’s made in a slow-cooker. Can it get better than that?

Hell hour; bring it on. I have my slow-cooker going!

Beef Stroganoff (serves 4)

1 large onion, diced
4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
500g beef schnitzel (or stewing meat) chopped into bite sized pieces
3 cups sliced mushrooms
1 cup beef stock
1 cup full-fat coconut milk
2 tbsp tamari sauce
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar (or red wine vinegar)
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 tbsp tapioca flour
2 tbsp cold water

Place the onion, garlic, beef, mushrooms, stock, coconut milk, tamari sauce, vinegar, nutmeg, salt, and pepper in your slow cooker/crock pot. Turn on high, cook for approx 4-5 hours or until the meat is tender (breaks apart when pressed through with a spoon).
In a small bowl, mix together the tapioca flour and water until a smooth slurry. Pour this into the beef mixture and stir through, allowing the mixture to thicken. Continue to cook for 30mins or so.
Serve hot with your desired sides. We’re big fans of cauli-rice and peas!

Leave a Reply

