Burger Buns (Gluten, Grain & Dairy Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh my word. I’m hooked on burgers.
I recently declared to my husband that burgers are my favourite meal. No lie. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE a good fancy steak, a crackling pork belly, or a glorious top restaurant meal. But burgers. That’s where it’s at. They’re quick, easy, phenomenally tasty, epic when paired with an array of condiments, fresh, and wonderfully versatile. Plus with a side of homemade kumara fries? BOOM. Winner.

I often tend toward the lettuce-wrapped variety. But when I’m in the mood for a bun (which is fairly frequent), I whip up my own simple batch.
Going dairy-free, I needed to find an alternative to my first version. The ones here have been a slow process of recipe testing, tweaking here and there, working my way to something I truly enjoy.
These days I’m making a batch or two weekly, freezing what I don’t use to whip out for a last minute meal on a lazy evening (or for rugby night!!) They freeze/defrost wonderfully, and you can even pop them in the toaster to speed the process along.

But enough said. Go eat those burgers xx

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Burger Buns (makes 10 sides/enough for 5 burgers)

1/2 cup full-fat coconut milk
4 eggs
1/2 cup ground almond
2&1/2 tbsp coconut flour, sifted
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 180’C/350’F. Line two baking trays with baking paper.
Place the coconut milk and eggs in a large bowl. Whisk to combine. Add the almond, coconut flour, baking soda, and salt. Mix together to an smooth consistency. Sit for 10mins to allow the coconut flour to absorb the moisture. Mix lightly once more. It should be a thick pancake-like consistency.
Using a soup spoon, spoon 10 circles of mixture onto the prepared baking trays (the mixture should be quite wet but still hold it’s shape as you spoon it on – will look like biscuits arranged on a tray). Bake in the oven for 10mins or until beginning to turn golden brown and spring back at a light touch.
Remove from the oven, cool on a wire rack.
Store in the fridge if not using. Serve fresh or toasted as burger buns.

3 thoughts on “Burger Buns (Gluten, Grain & Dairy Free)

  1. Kallie Bailey says:

    I tried these tonight but I must have done something wrong. The mixture never really thickened enough, and so they kinda dripped into a flat pancake on the baking sheet without holding its shape.

    They didn’t rise, and don’t look as pretty as yours. More rubbery and taste very salty and kinda like a fried egg.

    I followed the recipe exactly as you wrote, but wondering if I’ve done something wrong somehow?

    I really want to make it work – because they look so tasty and easy.

    • hungrycub says:

      Hmmm, what kind of coconut flour did you use? It sounds like that may have been your problem. If your mixture is still quite runny then add extra coconut flour in (giving it time to absorb) until it’s muffin-mixture kind of consistency.
      They certainly should be tasty and easy, so perhaps give it another whirl with the extra coconut flour and see how you go. Hope you have MUCH better luck next time!! x

Leave a Reply

