Carrot & Butternut Hummus (Grain, Legume, Dairy, & Nightshade Free)

A couple of weeks ago I was in a rush. I wanted to grab some snacks for a picnic, didn’t have stock in the pantry or fridge, and had little time to make anything. For the sake of my food budget, and my creative desire, I prefer to make my snacks at home. But on this day a drive-by of the supermarket became the plan.
Standing in front of the hummus/dip section I looked. And looked… And looked. (Meanwhile the ever patient husband was waiting with the kids in the car ❤ )
Due to breastfeeding reactions, my current eating plan is one free of gluten, dairy, and nightshades. So while looking for a lovely dip,  I was at a loss – there was nothing I could find to fit those guidelines. As I checked the ingredient list on jar after jar I resolved to come up with a dish of my own when I had some time in the kitchen.

Fast forward to last week. With ever abounding carrots and butternut, I decided to throw together a hummus of my own…
When I have the oven on, in the spirit of maximising my power usage, I try to cook many things at once. So while I baked my seed crackers, I also covered some carrots and chopped butternut in an array of glorious flavours, roasted them nicely, and blended them up. The end result was AMAZING. Even I was surprised at the outcome.

Although there’s no chickpeas in here, it still feels a lot like a hummus, and packs a fantastic punch of flavour (without using any common nightshades). If you’re seed free then, by all means, you can leave out the tahini. But if you eat them then I recommend the addition for the hearty element it imparts.

Enjoy xx

Carrot & Butternut Hummus

Carrot & Butternut Hummus (makes approx 1&1/2 cups)

2 large carrots, peeled and sliced in 1-2cm disks
2 cups peeled & cubed butternut squash (approx 2cm size)
2 large cloves garlic, crushed & roughly chopped
1 tbsp grated fresh ginger
3/4 tsp cumin seeds
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp salt (more to taste)
1 tbsp coconut oil
2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 tbsp tahini

Preheat oven to 180’C. Line a roasting dish with baking paper.
Place the carrots, butternut, garlic, ginger, cumin seeds, cinnamon, coriander, and salt in your prepared tray. Add the coconut oil and toss everything together (if your coconut is solid, as is normal in these cooler months then just throw it in the pan, and remove from the oven to toss together after 5mins in the oven after it has melted in the heat).
Bake in the oven for approx 30mins, until the veggies have softened (carrots will take the longest so be sure to do the stab test).
Remove from the oven, tip it into your food processor (don’t forget to scrape in any seeds and spices from the baking paper – you want maximum flavour here!) Add the lemon juice and tahini. Process until you have reached the hummus-style consistency you prefer. Taste and season with more salt or fresh lemon juice if desired.
Transfer to a sealable jar. Store in the fridge when not using – will keep for 5 days.

Leave a Reply

