Nomato Sauce (Nightshade Free Tomato Sauce Alternative)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nomato Sauce!!! One of the latest staples of my kitchen.

I went nightshade free a couple months ago for the benefit of our breastfeeding little dude (he wasn’t appreciating them AT ALL!)
Nightshade free was a scary concept for someone like me. Someone who borders on addiction to condiments, my homemade tomato sauce I totally love, and who puts spice in nearly everything (yes, I’ve been known to add it to ice cream).
Let’s be honest, I was FAR from stoked with the recommendation I cut all nightshades from my diet, instantly thinking of Manu desperately enquiring “WHERE IS THE SAUCE?!” (fellow MKR fan anyone??)
So I knew I had to turn it into an opportunity to develop new ways and recipes. And a tomato sauce alternative was the first place to start.

I’ve been making a LOT of this sauce lately. In the beginning, trying various methods and adaptions to nail down a flavour I really enjoyed. And now I share it with you…

Now, note here; don’t expect this sauce to taste exactly like a tomato sauce. It doesn’t… because it doesn’t contain any tomatoes. BUT it’s a great replacement for everything you would usually use tomato sauce for. It has a fantastic depth of flavour, and the apple cider vinegar added at the end gives it the great zing you would be accustomed to find in your usual tomato sauce (so don’t skip it!).
I adore this Nomato on my homemade burgers, on pizza, in my lasagne, and as a side with eggs. Basically I eat a lot of it!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nomato Sauce (makes approx 3 cups)

1 tbsp cooking oil (I like to use either coconut oil, or bacon, beef or chicken fat)
1 brown onion, roughly diced
3 garlic cloves, crushed & roughly diced
2 cups peeled & cubed beetroot (1 large or 2 medium)
2 cups peeled & cubed carrot (approx 2 carrots)
1 handful fresh herbs (I recommend a mixture of thyme & rosemary. Oregano & marjoram are also good – think pizza herbs)
1 cup stock (I love using my homemade chicken stock)
3/4 tsp salt
1 handful fresh basil
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
8 pitted black/kalamata olives

Melt the cooking oil in a large pan over a medium heat (I use my large cast iron skillet, you could also use a cast iron casserole dish). Add the onion and garlic. Cook until translucent and softened.
Tip in the beetroot and carrot, mix through the onion and cook for 5 mins. Add the fresh herbs, stock, and salt. Stir through. Cover and simmer for 20-30mins, until the veggies are soft and break apart when pressed with a spoon.
Remove from the heat. Cool for 5-10 mins.
Transfer to your blender bowl or a large bowl (if using a stick blender). Add the basil, apple cider vinegar, and olives. Blend well until completely smooth.
Store in sealable containers in the fridge. Will keep for 1 week, also freezes well.

7 thoughts on “Nomato Sauce (Nightshade Free Tomato Sauce Alternative)

  1. foodradical says:

    Fantastic!! I cannot tell you how long I’ve wanted this same substitute because I am night shade free! I just didn’t have the tenacity to find a good substitute. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

