Cauliflower Pizza Base (Grain, Dairy, & Nut Free version)

Note: Please excuse the rather uninspiring photo! I flicked it on my phone in the late evening before we ate. Then we proceeded to eat the whole thing before I thought to take a better one! Trust me, it looks good and tastes even better!! But on to the recipe…

I’ve made cauliflower pizza many times, and have a recipe for it on my blog already – a recipe I love!
However an adjusted breastfeeding diet has me doing without dairy and nightshades so, desiring pizza last week, I had to come up with a new plan.

This base is a simple adjustment on the original. Taking out the cheese, adding in an extra egg and some psyllium husk, and topping the end result with a “Nomato Sauce” instead.

The results were WONDERFUL! We helped ourselves to seconds (and secretly; thirds) that night and enjoyed the remainder for breakfast in the morning. It’s a wonderful base option that doesn’t leave you feeling over-stuffed at the end of the meal – I’d highly recommend a whirl, especially when you find those cauliflower on special!!

Cauliflower Pizza Base (makes 1 large base)

1/2 head cauliflower
1 tbsp your preferred cooking oil (tallow, lard, coconut oil, or butter/ghee if you tolerate dairy)
1 clove garlic, finely diced
3 tbsp coconut flour
1/2 tbsp psyllium husk (it helps to bind the base well but if you don’t have this you can do without, the end result may be slightly more crumbly but will still be delicious!)
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 tbsp chopped herbs (i.e basil, oregano, thyme etc…) – optional
1/2 tsp salt

Preheat your oven to 180’C. Line an oven tray with baking paper.

Break the cauliflower into small chunks. Chuck it all in the food processor and process until it becomes crumbly rice-sized pieces. Heat a pan (I use cast iron) over a medium heat. Add the cooking oil. Once the oil has melted, tip in the cauliflower and garlic. Stir whilst cooking for 5-8mins or so until the cauliflower has softened. Once the cauliflower is nice and soft, remove the pan from the heat and let sit for a couple minutes. Add the remaining ingredients to the pan then stir together quickly. It will form a thick dough-like mixture so get your hands in there to finish off the mixing if need be!
Transfer the mixture to the oven tray and press it out into your pizza shape. Aim to make the base about 1/2cm thick – if it’s too thick it will end in quite a mushy pizza.

Place the tray in the oven, cook for 15mins or until beginning to turn golden on top. At this point I like to flip the pizza over (place a sheet of baking paper on the top. Flip it over and peel the original baking paper off. Then cook for a further 5 mins. I find this step helps the ‘sturdiness’ of the pizza but you can skip it if you like!

Top the pizza with your desired toppings. (In the above photo I used Nomato Sauce, mushrooms, bacon mince, and fresh basil). Then bake until your toppings have cooked through.
Enjoy a delicious veggie-filled meal!! x

2 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza Base (Grain, Dairy, & Nut Free version)

  1. Nisha Shariff says:

    Hi, Looks delicious. I’d love to get your recipe for the Nomato sauce. As my daughter is not supposed to eat tomatoes. Thanks

    • hungrycub says:

      I’ve been working on a few different variations, but I think I’m narrowing it down to my favourite method – I’ll be sure to share the recipe soon!! x

Leave a Reply

