Sweet Chilli Sauce (Gluten and Refined Sugar Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m a glass bottle hoarder. Every time I go to wash out a bottle or glass jar I think to myself “I have a perfect new use for you my little bottle friend!” The problem (for my husband) is that these bottles of great destiny mostly just end up in piles. Piles, taking up cupboard space, piles that tumble like pins at the slightest knock.

I’m slowly learning not to hoard so much.

Several years ago the empty bottles lining my cupboards would have been rather telling of one of my great addictions of old. Sweet Chilli Sauce. Oh Sweet Chilli, how I loved you! On everything from scrambled eggs, to salads, to roast chicken, sweet chilli would sit loyally alongside, ready to add a tasty kick.

So it’s without surprise that a homemade version has been on my “things to tackle” list for months. Now finally, after quite some time of being intimidated by the idea, I decided to have a whack at it…

Sweet Chilli; welcome back to our home! I went through several trials and landed on a new concoction I enjoy. This homemade one has much more of a true chilli kick than the bottles of old, and is not quite so sugary, but it certainly hits the sweet, spicy, tangy spot I love. I hope you love it too!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sweet Chilli Sauce (makes approx 1 cup)

1 cup sliced chillies (use long red chillies or a mixture of red, green, and/or jalapeños)
2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
1 1/2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp salt
4 tbsp cold water
1/2 tbsp tapioca flour

Place the chillies, garlic, honey, vinegar, and salt in a small pot and bring it to the boil. Boil gently until the garlic and chillies have softened nicely (about 10 minutes). In a small cup; mix together the cold water and tapioca flour to dissolve all the flour. Pour this into the pot while stirring. Continue to stir until the mixture reaches your desired consistency (saucy-like 🙂 ) Give the sauce a wee blitz with your stick blender in in a large blender then return to the heat for 1 minute or so to mix through and ensure the consistency.

Transfer to a jar and store in the refrigerator when not using.

Leave a Reply

