Meat Free Mince (Gluten, Dairy, and Egg Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have a meat LOVING husband. His ideal meal is a braai, piled high with meat which he cooks to perfection! So it’s safe to say we’ve eaten a lot of meat in our days. Lately, however, I’ve been working on my veggie repertoire. For a while now I’ve wanted to make Meat Free Mondays a main-stay in our house – due to many reasons, but also so I don’t rely on meat being the dinner plate star for every. single. meal.

…So I’ve been working on serving up something a little more exciting than a frittata or a poached egg salad. I came across this idea of meat-free mince. No eggs, no tofu, no weird thing I wouldn’t recognise… just nuts and other (normal) additions for flavour. I worked out a flavour thats versatile and in line with what we love and here it is… The texture still holds a slight nutty crunch, but the flavour is OH MY PLATE delicious 🙂 I never thought a meat alternative could taste THIS good!

As I finished blitzing this one up (trust me, it’s SO quick! Faster than cooking up real meat) the meat-loving-man ambled in from work, took a sample of ‘mince’ from the processor, and stopped in his tracks. He loves it! He’s has thrown in his full-support for Meat Free Mondays – heck he even said we could do it more than once a week. I call that a win!

Being a ‘raw’ food, this mince is eaten cold so is perfect for tortillas and wraps (or crepes), you can also spoon it over a salad to make it more hearty and filling (great idea for any leftovers!). I have a few more ideas on how I might try using it so I’ll let you know the successes and failures 🙂

Enjoy xx

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meat Free Mince (serves 3 for tortilla dinners)

2 tbsp sun-dried tomatoes, chopped (use your own or double check the components on the back of the jar – some varieties have sugar added, some are just tomatoes, herbs, and oil or vinegar – ensure you pick one to suit your needs)
1 1/4 cups raw walnuts
1/2 tsp onion powder
1 tsp cumin
1 pinch chilli powder (more if desired)
1 tbsp coconut aminos (can sub with tamari or soy sauce if desired – note soy sauce contains gluten)

Place all ingredients in the food processor then blitz to a mince like texture (don’t overdo it – you don’t want to end up with mush)

Leave a Reply

