Seed Bread (Gluten & Grain Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Most mornings, by the time I drag myself from the cosy bed, I’m over the brink of hunger and ready to hunt for a quick and easy breakfast. Problem is, gluten-free or ‘lowish-carb’ kind of eating style doesn’t really lend itself towards quick and easy all the time. And omelettes, as much as I love them, become rather uninspiring by the tenth morning in a row. So the best bet is to have something you can prepare in advance, ready to tuck in while you’re still in that sleep state…

For a long time I’ve been trialling and working on a breakfast bread that is flavourful and sustaining. And finally I’ve arrived to a recipe I’m truly happy with! It uses a lot of ingredients so it’s not an every day item, but it’s easy, delicious, and goes a long way – three big ticks πŸ™‚

This is a really hearty loaf so best in thin slices. (And, in my opinion, at it’s best with avocado and a sprinkle of salt or on weekend days; a poached egg!) Don’t expect it to be exactly like your usual bread shop counterpart, but it still toasts up wonderfully and is a tasty way to start the day πŸ™‚ It’s best made with a high-speed blender (to really get a smooth base mixture from those cashews) – an appliance I highly recommend if you make a lot of these sorts of foods.

Enjoy! xx

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Seed BreadΒ (makes 1 large loaf)

2 cups cashews, soaked then drained
7 eggs
1/2 cup almond milk (or coconut milk or full-fat cows milk)
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
6 tbsp coconut flour (note; this cannot be replaced with desiccated coconut)
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
4 tbsp pumpkin seeds
4 tbsp sesame seeds
3 tbsp linseeds/flaxseeds
2 tbsp chia seeds (plus 1 tsp for sprinkling)

Soak the cashews for 3+ hours then drain and rinse.
Preheat the oven to 160’C and place a spare loaf tin (with about 2 cups of water in it) in the oven – for steam.
Grease the sides of a loaf pan (I use a large glass loaf pan) with coconut oil, butter, or ghee. Line through the middle with baking paper.

In a blender, mix together the cashews, eggs, milk, and apple cider vinegar until well combined to a very smooth consistency.

Pour this smooth mixture into a large bowl, sift in the coconut flour and baking soda. Add the salt, and all the seeds (bar the extra chia) then fold until it has all mixed well together.

Pour it all into the prepared loaf tin. Sprinkle over the extra quantity of chia seeds. Bake in the oven for 45-60 mins, until the crust is golden and a skewer comes back clean.

Cool on a wire rack until cold then store, well wrapped in the fridge.

16 thoughts on “Seed Bread (Gluten & Grain Free)

    • hungrycub says:

      Thanks for taking time to comment πŸ™‚ I haven’t tried a nut-free version of this yet so I can’t give you a confirmed answer sorry! But I do know in most recipes, sunflower seeds sub well for cashews. It might require a sun-butter instead of the whole seeds soaked, plus an alternative to baking soda so that it doesn’t turn green πŸ™‚ (if you want green bread on purpose you can check out my nut-free recipe here https://hungrycub.wordpress.com/2014/08/19/green-bread/) but I’ll work on this idea and will let you know!

  1. nat says:

    Hi, do you have any recommendations I could use instead of cashews as I am intolerant of them, I love them, however my gut does not πŸ™‚

    • hungrycub says:

      I’m working on some variations to this. Sunflower seeds work well but turn green in a natural reaction to baking soda! I’ll keep you posted on what I work on πŸ™‚

    • hungrycub says:

      I would substitute the pumpkin seeds with some chopped almonds or other nut (or sunflower seeds – however be aware that they can turn green when cooked with baking soda) and substitute the sesame seeds for chia seeds or linseeds πŸ™‚

  2. Terry B. says:

    What a treat to have bread again! I I have made Gluten Free/Grain Free Tortillas and flat breads, but sometimes you just want Toast and Jam… This bread brings back that joy. It had great form and texture and was so simple to make. I did substitute Hemp Seeds for the flax and linseeds, for personal preference. I am very pleased with it and will make it often. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

