Chipotle Aioli

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am a self-professed spice lover! One of the minor challenges I faced as our little girl began to eat what we eat, was being aware of the hot and spicy content of our meals. Over time I’ve learned a great way to add optional spice to a dish is to have it in a sauce on the side. Thus you can use it at your will!

Enter Chipotle Aioli….

I have read of chipotle peppers many times throughout my great pile of recipe books (collecting books is one of my addictions!) so recently I set about trying to find them. I searched up hill and down dale of all the specialty food stores in the area to no avail. Then finally ran into it at a standard local supermarket. So a note to my fellow kiwis; just go straight to Countdown! The one I get comes in small cans but a little goes a long way, it’s got a pleasing level of spice 🙂

When stirred through a homemade aioli (like my quick and easy stick-blender recipe) it’s the perfect accompaniment for many a dish! – Particularly the one pictured here; Zucchini & Chicken Bites 

Enjoy x

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chipotle Aioli

1 cup aioli
2-3 tbsp Chipotle Peppers in Abodo sauce

I get small cans of chipotle peppers in abodo sauce and puree them up to a smooth consistency.
Place your aioli in a bowl, then stir through some smooth chipotle peppers. I recommend starting with 1 tbsp (or even less if you’re not a big fan of spice) then adding more to taste.

Store in the refrigerator when not using.

One thought on “Chipotle Aioli

Leave a Reply

