Dark Chocolate Rum & Raisin Ice Cream (Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I clearly remember the first time I ever tasted the rum and raisin ice cream combo. I wept. It was awful!

Granted; I was about 7 at the time and I was deeply convinced I had carefully selected a delicious looking caramel and chocolate chunk ice cream from the range before me. Into the car and one lick later I was pretty positive someone was poisoning me – what was this?! Long story short, eyes full of disappointed tears led to a stumble on the driveway and ice cream spread out before me. My dad took my hand and guided me over to the corner dairy, replacing my botch-up with orange chocolate chip. Crisis over, but I never made a selection mistake again.

Fast forward about 20 years and now I love the stuff. I guess when you grow up you realise all the ‘disgusting’ things on the plate are actually pretty darn good. Mushrooms, garlic, onions, olives, seafood – secretly scrumptious ingredients that I really didn’t appreciate until the latter years. Truth be told, I don’t know how it happened that rum & raisin about-turned but after all those years I was there, ordering it on purpose. And now I’m one step further; making it myself!

This recipe is pretty easy, especially with an ice cream maker at hand (an appliance I HIGHLY recommend if you’re a fellow ice cream lover!) And if this is a flavour combo you never liked, perhaps I could implore you to give it a go?! You never know, maybe you’ll be enjoying bowls of goodness in no time 🙂

Happy holidays!! x

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dark Chocolate Rum & Raisin Ice Cream (makes approx 1.3L)

1x 400ml can full-fat coconut milk
1x 400ml can full-fat coconut cream
2 tbsp coconut sugar
2 tbsp pure maple syrup
3 tbsp cocoa
4 egg yolks
1/2 tbsp tapioca flour
50g (1.8oz) dark chocolate (70% cocoa solids or higher)
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup raisins (I chop mine a little because they’re quite large raisins but you can leave them whole if you prefer)
4 tbsp rum (I use white rum)

Pour the rum over the raisins and set aside for 3+ hours for the raisins to soak up the liquid and flavour.

Set aside 2 tbsp of coconut milk in a small bowl or cup. Then pour the remaining amount, plus the coconut cream, coconut sugar, and pure maple syrup into a large pot. Heat over a medium heat on the stove. Once it is warm add the cocoa and whisk to incorporate. Continue to heat the mixture until it juuuuust begins to bubble & boil. At this point remove it from the heat. In separate a bowl, lightly whisk together the egg yolks, tapioca flour, and the 2 tbsp of coconut milk you set aside. Once this is a smooth mixture slowly pour half of the heated coconut milk/cream mixture in while whisking well. Return the pot of the other half of the coconut milk/cream mixture to the heat. Pour the egg combination into the pot whilst stirring well. Stir and heat (ensuring no lumps or no custard sticking to the bottom of the pot) until it thickens nicely to a custard-like consistency (which coats the back of a wooden spoon).
Once thickened, remove from the heat.
Chop the dark chocolate into small pieces and place in a large ceramic or glass bowl. Add the salt and vanilla extract. Pour the hot custard mix over this while stirring. Let it sit for a bit for the chocolate to melt then stir with a spatula and/or whisk to ensure the chocolate incorporates through the whole custard.

Set aside to cool to room temperature then refrigerate until cold.

Once the custard mix is cold, tip the raisin/rum mix into a sieve over the custard (so that any residual rum liquid pours into the custard and the plumped raisins are left in the sieve) then set the raisins aside for a little later. Stir the rum through the custard then transfer to your ice cream churner and churn as per manufacturer instructions.

When your ice cream reaches soft serve consistency, tip the raisins in through the top and keep churning – allowing them to disperse nicely through the ice cream. (If you add the raisins too early, before the ice cream is thick enough, they can end up just sinking to the bottom).

Scoop the ice cream into your chosen storage container and whip it into the freezer for at least a couple hours before serving.

As with other homemade ice creams, you may need to give the ice cream 15-20 mins of sitting on the bench before serving (to soften).

Will keep well for a week – if it lasts that long!

Leave a Reply

