Crepes (Gluten, Grain, Refined Sugar & Dairy Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In my kitchen I’m often remaking recipes I’ve tried before, tweaking them slightly to try and obtain my preferred taste, consistency, or ease-of-process. Crepes/pancakes/wraps are one particular item I’ve been reworking. Particularly as I’ve changed the basic ingredients in our house and continually learnt how to use new items.

The cashews are the key ingredient in this recipe, they have a subtle flavour and go wonderfully creamy after being soaked then blitzed in a blender. I also wanted to make a coconut flour free version (to ensure a smoother result) and the result was fantastic!

These ones have been dubbed my ‘best yet’ – they work perfectly savoury or sweet, for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, and don’t fall to pieces when I fold them up – great success in my opinion!

Let me know how you like them 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crepes (makes approx 16 crepes)

1/2 cup cashews
1 cup unsweetened almond milk (I use homemade – it’s super easy and much cheaper!)
4 eggs
4 tbsp tapioca flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp coconut oil, melted

Soak the cashews in water for 3 hours then drain, rinse, and place in the blender along with the other ingredients.

Blend until well combined and you have a lovely smooth consistency.

Heat a pan over a medium heat on the stove top, grease the pan lightly with coconut oil (or your chosen alternative). Pour in 1/4 cup or so of the mixture and use the back of the ladle to spread the mixture out thinly. Allow to cook until the top is no longer runny (about 2mins, sometimes less) then flip and cook the other side for 1 min.

Continue the process until you’ve used up your mixture.

Cover until ready for use. Best if eaten the same day but will keep on a covered plate for another day int he fridge.

3 thoughts on “Crepes (Gluten, Grain, Refined Sugar & Dairy Free)

Leave a Reply

