Almond & Zucchini Pizza Base with Broccoli & Pesto Chicken Topping (Gluten & Dairy Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh pizza! My friday night love!

If you’ve been following my recipes for a while now, you might remember my Zucchini & Brown Rice Flour Pizza Base. Well this one is similar. Yet different; obviously.

I wanted to create a base that was grain free, and an alternative to my cauliflower base (because, currently, where I am; cauliflower is expensive right now!)

I had plenty of ground almond at hand so got to work…

Personally I think everything is better with more veges (except ice cream – my every day love) so turned back to my old friend zucchini. But let’s face it, the other truth is that ground almond is expensive and I didn’t want to use half of my supply on one pizza. So zucchini doubled as a great bulking member of this base – primo work zucchini!!!

Long story short, this one worked a beaut!

Even though we’re not dairy free in our family, I decided to keep the dish free of dairy just to test my ideas; and you really wouldn’t miss it here. Let me know how you liked it and what toppings you preferred most 🙂 (If you want to try out the Broccoli & Pesto Chicken Pizza, then scroll down even further for the topping instructions)

Happy pizza time!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Almond & Zucchini Pizza Base

1 zucchini, washed and grated
1 1/2 cups ground almond
2 tbsp coconut flour
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 tbsp fresh basil, chopped
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tbsp pysillium husk (optional – it’s not totally necessary here but I use it sometimes to increase the fibre content)
1 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 180’C/350’F. Line a flat oven tray with baking paper.

Add all the ingredients to a large bowl and mix well until it comes together in a sticky dough-like consistency – allow a couple minutes of mixing (I find it best by hand) so that the coconut flour can absorb the liquids and obtain the correct consistency.

Place the mixture in the middle of the prepared tray then roll it out to 1cm thick of your preferred shape. It can be easier to do this by placing another piece of baking paper on top of the mixture and using a rolling pin.

Bake in the oven for 15mins or until beginning to turn a light golden brown.

Remove from the oven.

In my weird way I like to turn the base over, peel the baking paper away (if should come off very easily) then put all the toppings on the old bottom side (if that makes sense?) It seems to help steam forming beneath the base and sticking it to the tray or paper.

 

For Broccoli & Pesto Chicken topping:

3 tbsp tomato paste or 4 tbsp of my chunky tomato sauce (on the pizza in the photo above I did half/half of each for demonstration)

1 cup broccoli florets (small pieces of chopped broccoli)

2 tbsp thinly sliced red capsicum

1 chicken breast, cut in half lengthwise then sliced thinly into pieces

2 tbsp basil pesto (your preferred type or my recipe coming this week) – without parmesan if you’re dairy-free

2 tbsp mayo or aioli

 

Spread the tomato paste or chunky tomato sauce over the base of the pizza. Arrange the broccoli and capsicum evenly dispersed on top.

Lightly cook the chicken in a pan over a medium heat (it’s ok if it’s slightly under as it will cook a little further in the oven). Add the basil pesto, turn off the heat and stir to ensure full coating of the chicken.

Spread the chicken over the pizza base. Then cook in the oven (at 180’C/350’F – hopefully still hot from cooking the base) for 10-15 mins until the toppings start to brown slightly.

Remove from the oven, allow to cool for 5-10 mins before dolloping the mayo or aioli over the top (this adds a wonderful creaminess without needing dairy).

Enjoy!!!

x

One thought on “Almond & Zucchini Pizza Base with Broccoli & Pesto Chicken Topping (Gluten & Dairy Free)

Leave a Reply

