Banana, Blueberry & Walnut Loaf (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Every family has that one weird relative. If you don’t know who it is; it’s probably you.”

Every so often I wonder if I’m the weird one in the family – because by all deductions; I have a great family! I count myself lucky that I have good relationships with all my family members; we care about each other deeply and enjoy spending time together.

Recently we got to spend two weekends in a row with my brother and sister-in-law – I love this couple!! They’re caring, thoughtful, and fun – the kind of couple who bring out the best in each other and are a joy to be around. We had numerous coffees, went on walks, watched rugby, played board games, and had great chats.

I invented this loaf in anticipation of their visit – something for us all to enjoy over the weekend. It turned out to be the perfect breakfast item. A little sweet, fully sustaining, and absolutely delicious! I’ve made it several times since and just can’t get enough. So here’s the recipe; I hope you will love it too and share it with someone special 🙂 x

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Banana, Blueberry & Walnut Loaf (makes 1 loaf)

3 large bananas
3 eggs
3 tbsp melted coconut oil (could substitute with butter if you’re ok with dairy)
3 tbsp runny/melted honey or pure maple syrup
3 tbsp full-fat coconut milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
4 tbsp ground almond
4 tbsp coconut flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)
40g chopped dark chocolate (I used Green & Blacks 85%) – optional
2 tbsp slivered almonds

Preheat the oven to 160’c. Grease (with coconut oil) a loaf tin and line it with baking paper.

Peel and roughly chop/break the bananas into a large bowl, crack in the eggs, add the coconut oil, honey or maple syrup, coconut milk, vanilla extract and apple cider vinegar. Use a stick blender to blitz it all into a smooth runny mixture (can also use a blender or food processor). Sift in the ground almond, coconut flour, baking soda, cinnamon and add the salt. Fold gently to combine. Add the walnuts, blueberries, and chocolate (if using) then fold a little more until it is well incorporated.

Transfer the mixture to the prepared loaf tin. Sprinkle the slivered almonds over the top. Then bake for approx 60mins – until it feels springy (and not soupy) to a gentle touch.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool for 15mins or more before turning out of the tin and cooling completely on a wire rack.

Enjoy for breakfast or as an any-time-of-the-day snack 🙂

5 thoughts on “Banana, Blueberry & Walnut Loaf (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

  1. Jodi says:

    Hi, I’ve just made this and the coconut milk is still sitting on my bench… I assume it’s meant to go in with the bananas? Cheers, Jodi

  2. Ruona says:

    Hi,

    I made this yesterday night & my hubby ate some of it at past midnight! Yup, it was that good.
    I’m so happy to have come across your blog & will be trying a lot of your recipes as I want to completely eradicate the use of sugar in my baking. Thanks for the recipe & Gob bless.

Leave a Reply

