Lemon & Coconut Truffles (Petite Kitchen Recipe) & a Giveaway!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Iiiiiit’s GIVEAWAY TIME!!!!!

I’m one week out from my birthday. Every year I get gloriously excited before the ‘celebration day’. I love birthdays. Not just my own (although it’s definitely one of my five favourite days of the year) I just love a reason, and a day set aside, to celebrate someone’s life.

My husband and I celebrate our birthdays only a small number of days apart so this time of year is always an exciting time in our house ๐Ÿ™‚

This year I’ve decided that one of the ways I will celebrate is to hold my very first Hungry Cub Giveaway. And what better choice than to gift someone with a copy of my most cherished and favourite recipe books; “My Petite Kitchen Cookbook” – Simple Wholefood Recipes by Eleanor Ozich.

Eleanor’s incredible food blog was a leading inspiration when I started to make changes our eating habits. Her recipes proved to me that gluten, dairy, and refined-sugar free cooking isn’t devoid of flavour, it’s delicious and addictive!

I love so many recipes from her blog and within this book. And I’ve made many (such as the Boiled Chocolate Orange Cake and Best Baked Beans) countless times.

Before organising my giveaway I contacted Eleanor (who is as lovely as her stunning food) and she gave me permission to share with you one of the recipes in her book; Lemon and Coconut Truffles. This was the first recipe I ever tried of hers – it’s quick and easy and so full of flavour, you’ll love them!

SO! Down to the nitty gritty – if you want to enter, head on over to my Facebook page and comment on the giveaway post with your go-to favourite snack.*

I’ll be drawing the winner a week from today (on my birthday!) and hope, whoever you are, that you love this book as much as I ๐Ÿ™‚

Meanwhile, enjoy these tasty truffles..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lemon & Coconut Truffles (makes about 25) – reposted with permission by Petite Kitchen

2 cups desiccated coconut
1 cup almond meal (ground almond)
1/3 cup extra virgin coconut oil (or unsalted butter)
1/3 cup honey
grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
1 tsp vanilla extract
a pinch of sea salt

Set aside 1/2 cup of the desiccated coconut in a bowl for dusting the truffles.

Put the remaining coconut in a food processor, then add the remaining ingredients and a pinch of sea salt. Blend for 1-2 minutes, until the mixture starts to come together like a dough.

Using your hands, form the mixture into small balls.

Roll the balls in the reserved coconut until well coated. Transfer to a plate, then shill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes to set.

The truffles can be kept at room temperature in an airtight container, but I find they are best kept in the fridge. They will keep for 3-4 days.

*Note this giveaway is not affiliated with Facebook but rather run by yours truly ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Lemon & Coconut Truffles (Petite Kitchen Recipe) & a Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

