Chocolate & Coconut “Bounty” Truffles (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was always the BIGGEST fan of bounty chocolate bars. The chocolate shell, the coconutty centre – a combination of flavours I completely love. It was one of my favourite special snacks.

More recently (after I decided to learn to make more things from scratch) I tried my hand at my own version of these favourite chocolates. You can make them as bars or truffles but I find truffles to be the easiest snack size and also less messy to coat in some delicious dark chocolate.

If you’re feeling super keen or creative, you could even try making your own homemade chocolate for the shell. Perhaps that’ll be my next attempt…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chocolate Coconut “Bounty” Truffles (makes approx 20 balls)

2 cups dried coconut (thread or chips)
3 tbsp full-fat coconut milk (is best if you use the ‘thicker’ portion from the top of the can)
1 tbsp brown rice syrup (you can substitute with honey – it will slightly change the flavour but is still wonderful)
2 tbsp coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
pinch salt

Add all the above ingredients into a blender or food processor. Blitz at a high speed until it comes together into a sticky mixture.
Spoon into a bowl and refrigerate for 1 hour.
Using a teaspoon, take walnut sized amounts of the mixture and roll it into a ball.
Repeat until all the mixture has been used up.

Coat by dipping in melted dark chocolate – 70% cocoa solids or higher (requires approx 125g) or dust with cocoa or cacao. Store in the refrigerator.

7 thoughts on “Chocolate & Coconut “Bounty” Truffles (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

  1. Lee says:

    I made them and they are fantastic – only down side, everybody else in the house loved them too, so I’ll have to hide the next batch. The veggie bin in the fridge is my hiding place. My two teenage boys NEVER open that πŸ™‚

    • hungrycub says:

      Hahaha! This is awesome! I must take to hiding things there also πŸ™‚ the veggie bin always gets past the ‘man look’. I’m so pleased you liked them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

