Lemon Honey (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free & Paleo)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some know it as Lemon Curd. But I grew up knowing it as Lemon Honey; the delicious spread I used to hunt down at the local church or community fair. It would be the one item I knew I desperately wanted, the one I would save my last few dollars for. I’d initially look at the other various items with mild interest then get my game on, seeking out that trestle table laden with jams, slices, and my jar of lemony goodness.

Many years later I’m now married to a man who loves all things lemon (even more than chocolate!) so a while back I set about creating a new version of the favoured spread, and have made it many, many times since!

This version is tangy, sweet, and perfectly creamy. The coconut oil adds that slight coconutty taste, which compliments it wonderfully. Yet if you’re not a fan of that flavour, feel free to swap out the coconut oil for butter (as long as you’re ok with dairy).

Enjoy this on your morning toast, stirred into your cereal, served with cake, dolloped on yoghurt, or as in the hubby’s case; straight from the jar with a spoon 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lemon Honey (makes approx 2 cups)

 

5 tbsp honey

4 tbsp coconut oil

1 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

3 eggs, lightly beaten

 

Add the honey, coconut oil, and lemon juice to a medium sized saucepan. Heat over a medium heat until the honey and coconut oil have melted. Pour in the eggs and whisk while continuing to heat until the mixture thickens as would custard. Set aside to cool then transfer to jars. Store in the fridge (it will thicken further the more it cools). Will keep for 10 days.

Leave a Reply

