Mango & Coconut Breakfast Parfait (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This past Monday I was surprised and bestowed with some free tubs of coconut milk yoghurt (Coyo). I LOVE freebies. Whatever they are; I always feel a childlike excitement receiving something free and new – who doesn’t?! But it’s even better when the gift is in line with the kind things I love, plus a specific something I’ve been wishing and wanting to try! Talk about stoked!

In the carpark of my favourite store (Huckleberry Farms) I encountered Dan the Coyo delivery man – dropping off new stock. This nice guy gave me two tubs to sample. I’ve been wanting to give this new item a whirl since I heard of it so HECK I was excited!

Coyo is a vegan coconut milk alternative to standard yoghurt, it’s got all the goodness of probiotics and is made with natural ingredients, sweetened by real fruit and a dash of stevia. It’s super creamy and just plain darn amazing! I’ll definitely be trying out the other mouth-watering flavours (Cherry and Cacao Nib – uuuuuh, YUM!) when I can, and meanwhile will savour the mixed berry and mango flavours I luckily received.

This morning, for breakfast, we enjoyed an incredible layered parfait made from coconut chia, fresh mango, mango coyo, and chopped nuts. I left the chia mixture unsweetened as the mango held all the sweetness necessary.

Enjoy it for breakfast or dessert, it’s filling, decadent, oh so creamy but fresh!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mango & Coconut Breakfast Parfait (2 generous serves)

chia pudding:

200ml (1/2 tin) coconut milk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp cinnamon – optional

2 tbsp chia seeds

2 tbsp desiccated coconut

layer with:

1/2 tub Mango Coyo (try any of the other delicious flavours if you prefer)

1/2 fresh mango, chopped

2 tbsp chopped raw almonds, or toasted coconut chips

 

The night before, mix together all the chia pudding ingredients in a jar and sit in the fridge overnight to set.

Come morning, layer all the elements in a jar or bowl as you please and enjoy for a refreshing start to the day 🙂

 

One thought on “Mango & Coconut Breakfast Parfait (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

Leave a Reply

