Cauliflower Pizza Base (Gluten Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did it. I fed him cauliflower and everyone’s still smiling.

To understand how tremendous this event is in the culinary world of our household, you must know that my husband actually hates the vegetable. There are no holds barred in his disdain for it. He even raised the topic on our first date – such is his dislike. It’s not that he’s a fussy man by any means. He’s much more adventurous than I and always willing to give any of my creations a go – my favourite choice of taste-tester. Just nothing with cauliflower and celery.

However curiosity got the better of me. I’d seen recipes and pictures of cauliflower pizza all over the place, and I was growing more and more keen to try my hand at creating one, positive that I could hide the ‘cauliflowerness’ of cauliflower.

And so, with a good whack of delicious flavours, it came to pass. We dined on a pizza that was not only edible, but enjoyable too! – He wanted seconds!!

The garlic, parmesan and herbs really boost the flavour hit here and make for a wonderful, vege-packed dinner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Cauliflower Pizza Base

 

1/2 head cauliflower

1 tbsp olive oil

1 garlic clove, crushed

1 heaped tbsp of a chopped fresh herb (basil, rosemary, oregano, or thyme…)

1/2 cup packed hard cheese, grated (parmesan, tasty, colby etc..) – I use parmesan or tasty

1 egg, lightly beaten

3 tbsp coconut flour

1/2 tsp salt

pinch cracked black pepper

 

Preheat the oven to 200’C/390’F. Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

Roughly chop the cauliflower into chunks then place in the food processor and process until it is reduced to ‘rice-like’ size. Heat a large pan (I used my cast-iron pan) to medium-low heat, add the olive oil followed by the cauliflower. Gently cook the cauliflower while stirring (don’t let it stick or burn) until softened. Remove from the heat. Add the garlic, herb, cheese, egg, coconut flour, salt, and pepper. Mix together until well combined.

Transfer to the prepared oven tray. Mold into the shape of a pizza base and flatten to 1/2-1cm thick – it’s somewhat ‘mushy’ in consistency, but just pack it down together, it will firm up and bind with cooking.

Cook the base for 15mins – until it starts to turn a lovely golden brown colour.

Remove from the oven, top with your favourite toppings, (I topped mine with some of my tomato basil sauce, chicken I had sliced and marinated in spices, cheese, chopped capsicum, and mushrooms) then replace in the oven until the toppings are cooked.

Enjoy!

 

*Note: because of the coconut flour, it crisps up nicely however doesn’t go as firm as dough based pizzas (it is a vege after all!) so it’s best to eat with knife and fork 🙂

3 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza Base (Gluten Free)

Leave a Reply

