Chili & Coriander (Cilantro) Hummus (Gluten Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I looooooove spicy hot food. From jalapenos, to chilies, to cayenne pepper, whatever can be added; I really enjoy a good kick in my meals!

When we’re out I love ordering food with extra spice, perusing the menu for dishes which pack a punch. Usually I can handle the jandal. Until recently. We ordered in Thai after a particularly busy week. I thought I would step up to the plate to ‘traditional hot’ and see how extreme I could go, but there I found my limit. About two mouthfuls in I thought my tastebuds would be burnt off forever. A glass of cold milk didn’t douse the fire, a fresh apple was mocked in the full force of my mouth inferno. All I could do was wait it out, mouth burning, stomach churning, mind resolved to tone it back a little from here.

Such was the burn that it was a couple weeks before I eased back towards my love of spiciness once more. But back the desire came, it was time to make hummus!

This hummus has a medium level kick to it and a wonderful fresh flavour. It’s perfect on crackers, with chopped fresh veges or in place of sauce in a salad. If you’re a fellow spice lover then try it with a little more chili and leaving in the seeds. How hot can you go?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chili & Coriander (Cilantro) Hummus

 

1x 400g can chickpeas, drained & rinsed

1 tsp tahini (can substitute with almond or peanut butter)

zest of half lemon

juice of 1 lemon

2 green chilies, halved, deseeded (unless you love it HOT!) and roughly chopped

handful of fresh coriander (cilantro), roughly choppedĀ (approx 4 tbsp)

2 garlic cloves, peeled and roughly chopped

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

3 tbsp olive oil

 

Place all ingredients in the food processor and blend until you reach a smooth consistency. Store in the fridge and use within the week.

Leave a Reply

