Nutty Apple Muesli (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used to be a vogels addict. Every morning. Without fail. 1 slice with vegemite, 1 slice with marmite, a coffee on the side. That was my breakfast of choice for about four years. I still have a great admiration for the stuff, its the cream of the crop of ‘supermarket bread’ as far as I’m concerned.

When I started making small changes to my eating patterns, I still loved keeping up my vogels tradition; it was the favourite part of my morning! It wasn’t until more recently when, through some discussion & trials with a my GP and Naturopath, I decided to go completely gluten free. I’ve been trying to get on top of some ongoing health concerns, and have been amazed with the results simple changes in my diet have brought about.

My vogels breakfast was the hardest habit to kick. A gluten-free toast version just didn’t cut it, I was getting sick of eggs, and cereals made from purely nuts were hard to keep up with. Then, from a couple of different sources, I came across this inspiring idea; Nutty Apple Muesli!

Over time I developed my favourite flavours and additions (which I have listed below) but don’t feel bound by the recipe. Insert, extract, change around whatever you like. Over summer it’s AMAZING with some peach or nectarine thrown in the mix! The fruit really bulks this out so you’re not powering through the nuts, and it also imparts a lovely lightness and freshness to the bowl.

Serve it plain, with your favourite milk (we’re loving raw milk in our household currently!), or some unsweetened yoghurt of choice. You’ll be surprised at how moreish this is!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Nutty Apple Muesli– serves 2-3

1/2 cup nuts (mix of almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, walnuts, macadamias)

1 large apple, unpeeled but cored and chopped into chunks

2 tbsp mix of pumpkin & sunflower seeds

1-2 tbsp coconut, desiccated or chips

1/2 tsp cinnamon

optional extras/ideas

Dried apricots, chopped

Raisins

Gogi Berries

Cacao Nibs

1 tsp chia seeds

1 tsp flaxseeds

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

 

Add the nuts to the food processor and process on high until the nuts are in small chunks (not too far or they’ll go fine).

Add in the remaining ingredients and process until it reaches your desired consistency.

Serve as is, or with your chosen variety of milk (almond, coconut, cows, etc…)

2 thoughts on “Nutty Apple Muesli (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

  1. Barbara B says:

    I make a “granola” similar to the ingredients you use – no sweeteners or oils with a healthy dose of cinnamon, you could also use pumpkin pie spice. I even freeze it since I make a huge amount of it. I don’t like yogurt, but I found that ricotta, lightly sweetened with some SF flavored syrup works for me, topped with the granola. I will occasionally add in SF choc chips, cacao nibs, espresso powder, hemp seeds are good in the granola. As an extra treat, I might have a small amount of strawberries or blueberries or a tart green apple. Keeps me full for hours.

Leave a Reply

