Banana Walnut Loaf (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I’m a sucker for a chunky slice of banana loaf. Of course it’s even better with morsels of walnut and melty nuggets of dark chocolate! Whack me off a decent wedge, hand me a coffee, and I’m set.

This version is a wonderful treat for a morning tea gathering on these chilly days. The loaf you see here didn’t last long in our house, what little amount that remained after day one was snaffled up for breakfast the following morning. I take that as a compliment!

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Banana Walnut Loaf

 

2 ripe/overripe bananas, mashed with a fork

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp coconut oil (or butter if you’re ok with dairy) melted

1 cup ground almond

4 tbsp tapioca/arrowroot flour

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1/3-1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

50g/0.8oz dark chocolate, chopped – optional

 

Preheat the oven to 160’C/320’F. Grease and line a loaf tin.

Mash the bananas (with a fork) in a large bowl. Add the eggs, vanilla extract, honey, and melted coconut oil or butter and mix well to combine. Sift over the ground almond, tapioca flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt, folding gently to achieve a smooth mixture. Fold in the nuts and chocolate (if using) then pour into the prepared loaf tin.

Bake for approx 30mins until ‘spongey’ when gently pressed. Allow to cool slightly before removing from the tin then sit on a wire rack. It’s delicious still warm (with melty chocolate inside) or cooled any time of the day.

12 thoughts on “Banana Walnut Loaf (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free)

    • hungrycub says:

      Thanks for the feedback! I’m pleased to hear you like it, now I’m hankering for a slice myself ๐Ÿ™‚ Too bad I’m out of bananas at the moment!

  1. Kary Rushton says:

    Just made this now but had difficulties with the cooking time ๐Ÿ˜ฆ after 30 mins it was still liquid inside so I had to bake for an extra 15 before giving up and taking it out to cool and hopefully thicken! Loaf does taste awesome but it’s still kinda ‘wet’ somehow… Maybe my oven ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • hungrycub says:

      Sorry to hear you had troubles! What I wonder is maybe it’s the coconut flour? What kind did you use? It might not have absorbed the liquid as well as it should perhaps?

      • Kary Rushton says:

        Mmmmm I totally missed that part of the recipe?! Coconut flour isn’t mentioned above ๐Ÿ˜ฆ how much should I put in next time? This time I used 1C ground almond and 4Tbs arrowroot flour…. Ta ๐Ÿ™‚

      • hungrycub says:

        Sorry! I don’t know where my brain was!!! I was thinking of a different loaf. You’re right – this one doesn’t have coconut flour so I’m a little stumped as to what led to your version being so runny. Although if you were to try it again and you found your mixture just as runny, you could try adding 1 tbsp of coconut flour – it works wonders ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Kary Rushton says:

        Awesome! Will do!! P.s I’m so thankfull and appreciatve of your site and all it’s amazing recipes! You’ve made my dairy-free life so much easier and yummer!! X

      • hungrycub says:

        Wow, thank you so much! I’m so pleased to hear you’re enjoying it! If you have any other particular recipe you’d like a dairy-free spin on, feel free to let me know ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

