Berry Coulis (Refined Sugar Free & Paleo)

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

During my final year of high school, about two weeks in, I had an epiphany; I didn’t need to be taking my chemistry class. Whaaaat?! Talk about freedom. It dawned on me that I had the credits I needed to proceed to my [at that time] chosen uni course. Instead of pushing for extra credits to make a ‘better-looking’ uni application with courses I didn’t require, I could use my time to take a class purely for the fun of it.

Initially I opted over to Accounting. Seriously. I don’t know what I was thinking (no offense accountants! I’m just not a numbers girl). That was followed by a quick stop in Drama class – no, not me either – turns out being a dramatic person doesn’t mean natural talent for acted drama. But then I found it.  My soul mate of courses; Hospitality. I was one of the best class decisions I ever made.

Berry Coulis is one particular item I remember making in my Hospitality class. It was something we learned more as a ‘finishing touch’ than a recipe on it’s own. It didn’t hold a bar to the complexity of some of the dishes we got to make, but I love it for the cooking occasion connected to the memory and the delicious punch of flavour it has. This sauce takes any dessert to the next level, not only in terms of presentation (have some fun dripping it around the plate!), but because the berry hit is wonderful!

It’s amazing on ice cream, with pancakes, or as an incredible topper for my Fruit Crumble and Coconut Mousse. Enjoy!

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Berry Coulis

 

2 cups berries, fresh or frozen (I use frozen this time of year)

1-2 tbsp honey (to taste)

 

Combine the two ingredients together in a saucepan. Heat over a medium heat until the berries are soft, mushy and surrounded in their own delicious liquid.

Strain the mixture into a bowl through a fine mesh sieve, mooshing the berries through with the back of your spoon until you’re left with a wee mound of seeds in the sieve and wonderfully smooth, seedless, delightful sauce in the bowl. Discard the seeds and pour the sauce into your chosen bottle. Store in the fridge between uses. Will last for a week.

 

2 thoughts on “Berry Coulis (Refined Sugar Free & Paleo)

  1. Miriam Strom says:

    Bought some frozen “smoothie berries” by mistake – I’m not all that keen on frozen strawberries as the texture is mushy when defrosted. While feeling guilty for neglecting them, I remembered this recipe and voila, they are now a lovely rich berry coulis. Utterly delightful! Thanks Beth x

Leave a Reply

