Chocolate Berry Muffins (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free & Paleo)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A.K.A Mother’s Day Surprise Muffins.

I have an amazing mother. From day one of my life she has been the person who loves me strongly, cares for me sacrificially, and is there for me when I need her. Her role as “Mum” to me and my three siblings is one that outplays in ways I do not even realise. It is without doubt that I would not be as I am today if not for her.

When I had my own daughter, the true extent of all my mother is and has done began to dawn on me. The unseen bits; the endless love, the anticipation, the worry, the teaching, the sleepless nights, the relinquishment, the providing, the praising, and so, so much more.

This Sunday I will especially be thinking of and celebrating her.

I also get to celebrate as I’m a mother myself. Being a mum is a joy I never anticipated. I always knew it is a treasured role, but I wasn’t prepared for the extreme, aching love and care that would immediately be there for my daughter and continue to grow. Just today I watched her sit in-front of a little mirror, trying on various headbands and beads from her ‘jewlerry’ box, smiling at herself at each new ensemble. In that simple yet lovely scene I was struck again by how much I love this little girl. She’s small, she’s vulnerable, she’s mine to care for.

I have so many days of mothering ahead. That thought makes me incredibly nervous and elated all in one. It’s no easy task, but it’s one I wouldn’t swap for the world.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mums this Sunday! Enjoy some delicious muffins x

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Chocolate Berry Muffins

 

4 eggs

3 tbsp coconut oil (or butter if you don’t require dairy free)

4 tbsp honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup ground almond

4 tbsp cocoa

2 tbsp coconut flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

pinch salt

2-3 tbsp Chia Berry Jam (optional)

25g/1oz dark chocolate, chopped – 70% cocoa solids or higher (optional)

 

Preheat oven to 160’C/320’F and grease 10 muffin moulds.

Beat eggs, coconut oil (or butter), honey, and vanilla extract together until light and aerated. Sift in remaining ingredients. Fold together gently until well combined.

Spoon a heaped tbsp of mixture into each prepared muffin mould. If you wish, place a small amount of jam and chopped chocolate in the centre then top with another tbsp of mixture.

Cook for 15-18mins or until springs back when lightly pressed. Set aside to cool completely before icing.

 

Fluffy Berry Icing (best if iced just before serving)

 

2 tbsp honey

2 egg whites

pinch salt

2 tbsp pureed berries

1 tsp vanilla extract

grated dark chocolate (optional)

 

Heat honey in a small saucepan over a medium heat until boiling. While the honey is heating, beat the egg whites and pinch of salt in a kitchen mixer until light and fluffy. While the mixer continues to beat, slowly drizzle in the hot honey. Leave to beat for a further 5 mins while the mixture thickens and cools then. Add the pureed berries and vanilla extract and gently fold together. Pipe icing over the cooled muffins then sprinkle over a little grated chocolate if so desired.

 

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Berry Muffins (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free & Paleo)

  1. foodradical says:

    This is a beautiful post. Having just lost my mother, this will be my first mother’s day without her. Enjoy every moment with your mom and happy mother’s day to you!

Leave a Reply

