Chocolate Hazelnut Spread (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free & Paleo)


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I remember the days when I thought Nutella was the ULTIMATE spread. I would be wild with excitement going to a friend’s house who had Nutella in their cupboard and intensely jealous of others who had those little Nutella snack packs in their lunches at school. In our house it was a top notch treat item, purchased for special occasions and gone in a flash.

Then, more recently, I discovered the two main ingredients in Nutella are processed sugar and palm oil. Not totally ideal for every day consumption. There go my childhood dreams of a whole pantry shelf dedicated to the widely-loved spread.  So i set about making my own Hungry Cub version. There have been many varieties along the way but I thought I’d share this one with you first.

This recipe was a ‘pure accident’ discovery I made in recent weeks, and I actually prefer it to my previous more intentional trials! I like the way it’s not overly nutty in texture but it still has all the flavour.

Try it out on whatever toast you eat, or to enhance some delicious banana pancakes and let me know what you think!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Chocolate Hazelnut Spread

 

1 cup dates, soaked in 3/4 cup water overnight

3 heaped tbsp hazelnut butter

2 tbsp cocoa or cacao

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp salt

 

Put all the ingredients (including any remaining liquids from the soaking of the dates) into the food processor. Whiz it up until you get a sticky smooth consistency.

Store it in a jar (makes approx 1 1/2 cups) in the fridge and use it however you like!

One thought on “Chocolate Hazelnut Spread (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free & Paleo)

Leave a Reply

