Rich Dark Chocolate Tart (Dairy, Gluten & Refined Sugar Free)

Dark Chocolate Tart

We don’t have a TV in our house, but in the wonderful age of TV on demand online, I can hunt down and easily view a show that might hold a particular interest. If there’s anything I watch, it’s about an 80% chance that the program will be some kind of cooking show. Reality show (Masterchef and MKR!) or instructive series by a celebrity chef (Jamie Oliver & Heston!!) – I loveย them all most of them!ย 

One dish I see pop it’s little head time and again is the ‘restaurant quality’ Chocolate Ganache Tart. I can’t say I’ve ever ordered one in a restaurant (Trio of Gelato is my kyrptonite) but watching shows, I always look at the dish with admiration and yearning. It seems simple but divine – the perfect kind of dessert to make and impress.

A couple weeks ago, for my sister’s birthday, I wanted to make something to go alongside the Apple Rose Tart. Something different yet of equal ‘wow’. So I set about concocting this tart. After trials with a plain base I decided to switch tack and go all out chocolate – the only way to be.

I hope you chocolate lovers out there enjoy the deep, dark, decadent flavours this tart has to offer. Savour it after a fancy meal or on a lazy afternoon with good company and great coffee.

Dark Chocolate Tart2

Rich Dark Chocolate Tart (Dairy, Gluten & Refined Sugar Free and Paleo)

Tart Shell

3 tbsp coconut oil (or butter if you don’t require dairy free)
3 tbsp honey or maple syrup
2 tsp vanilla extract
1&3/4 cups ground almond
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
4 tbsp cocoa
1/4 tsp salt

Melt liquid ingredients together. Sift in dry ingredients, beat together (by hand, in a stand mixer or in a food processor) until well combined. Press into a greased tart tin and bake at 180’c for 10-15mins (until crisped but not burned). Remove from oven, allow to cool before removing the tart from the tin then cool completely on a wire rack before adding the filling.

Chocolate Ganache Filling

300g dark choc, 70% cocoa solids or higher (I useย Whittakers 72% Dark Ghana or Lindt 90% in mine – or a mix of both!)
1 cup coconut milk
1 tbsp coconut oil (or butter if not requiring dairy-free)
1 tsp instant coffee
2 tbsp honey or maple syrup
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 roasted nuts, chopped (I roasted hazelnuts – which skin easily as they cool before chopping)

Break/chop the chocolate into pieces and place in a glass/heatproof bowl – set aside. In a small saucepan place; coconut milk, coconut oil, coffee and honey. Heat over a medium heat, while stirring, until it is well warmed and bubbly at the edges of the pan. Remove from heat and mix in the vanilla extract and salt. Pour over the broken chocolate and mix until well combined and smooth. Pour the mixture into the cooled tart shell then set to sit on the bench and cool for 30 mins. Chop the roasted nuts and sprinkle over the ganache filling. Refrigerate the tart for 2-3 hours or overnight. Bring the tart out of the fridge for at least 15mins before serving to allow it to soften nicely once more.

Serve in small slices (it’s a rich one!!) and enjoy!

13 thoughts on “Rich Dark Chocolate Tart (Dairy, Gluten & Refined Sugar Free)

  1. michellejoyful says:

    I’ve got this in the oven right now and it’s puffing up like a cake all the way to the top of the tart tin! The mixture was very liquid when I put it in (wouldn’t stay up sides of tin) so I added more almond flour but it was still very wet. I definitely measured everything right. What have I done wrong? Was I supposed to blind bake it?

    Update: while typing that I could smell burning: fail. It’s redeemable I think. So now it is sunken a little in the middle (and mildly charred) and I can put some filling in, but it’s not like tart cases I’ve made in the past. Any hints?

    • hungrycub says:

      Hi!
      That sounds really unusual, I’ve never had that happen to me before. I’m not sure what would make it so liquidy as there should be about 7tbsp of wet ingredients to 2&1/2 cups+ of dry, my tart shell mixture turns out quite stiff, like a firm cookie dough. Just to double check; did you use coconut flour as opposed to desiccated coconut? And 1&3/4 cups of ground almond? The tart shell is baked but the filling does not require any baking. Oh that’s such a shame!

      • michellejoyful says:

        I couldn’t find coconut flour so ground up my desiccated coconut instead. Google told me it would be the same thing but now I’m not so sure. And yes other than that I’m confident the ingredients were right. Now that it has cooled ‘firmed cookie dough’ is the exact way I would describe it, so maybe after all it worked perfectly ๐Ÿ™‚ I was expecting it to be a lot crisper. I can’t wait for it to cool so I can fill it and eeeeeat it which must be a sign it worked! Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      • hungrycub says:

        Oh I’m so glad to hear it was usable!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Google seems to have let us down here, in my experience coconut flour and desiccated coconut work quite differently. Coconut flour absorbs liquids like no-mans-business whereas desiccated coconut – not so much ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Although I’m stoked it was salvageable! In NZ I find coconut flour at the Wholefood stores, unfortunately it’s not common at many supermarkets.

      • michellejoyful says:

        Ok good to know, thanks! I’m in nz too.. will have to check out huckleberry farms or something. It’s chilling in the fridge now and looks so good, can’t wait to indulge tomorrow. Thanks for your help ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. michellejoyful says:

    Haha Beth I just figured out why this blog was so familiar: it’s you!! Don’t know how I didn’t click before. You post some ridiculously delicious recipes lady. I hope all is going well with you. And for the record I have had numerous requests for repeats of this delicious tart. Michelle (from work)

    • hungrycub says:

      Hey Michelle!!! Yes it’s me ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so glad you’re enjoying the recipes, this tart is one of my favourites too! Chocolate overload, I love it

    • hungrycub says:

      Sorry it was an oversight of mine to not write that up on the blog!! I make it in a 20-25cm tart tin – so it’s definitely more than one portion. I would usually get about 10-12 serves from this (it’s quite rich so you don’t need much). You could always reduce the recipe to about 1/4 of the portions and make it in a single serve sized tart shell if you like? All the best for your assessment!

Leave a Reply

