Triple Layer Chocolate Caramel Slice (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free and Paleo)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used to have a fridge magnet that said “Forget love, I’d rather fall in chocolate.”

I don’t know where it went. I probably quickly pushed it round the back of the fridge when I met my now husband. I didn’t want him to think I was the food-obsessed oddball he now knows I am. Although the statement is not so true in reality, it makes the obvious point; chocolate had me at hello.

I’m in the dark chocolate camp. I love deliciously dark chocolatey flavours and I adore the pairing of chocolate, caramel and nuts almost as much as chocolate’s true love; peppermint (wait for this combination to appear in the coming weeks!) This ‘slice’ is my rich spin on some hybrid of a snickers and moro bar. Serve it in small slices and enjoy not feeling that crazed sweet sugar overload afterwards!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Triple Layer Chocolate Caramel Sliceย 

Base:

3 tbsp Coconut Oil, melted (or *butter or ghee)
4 Tbsp Cocoa
2 Tbsp honey, melted
1/8 tsp salt
3/4 cup desiccated coconut (I have also used ground up rolled oats* – ground in my magic bullet – for those who aren’t a fan of coconut)
Mix all ingredients together well then pour into the bottom of a greased and baking paper lined loaf tin (mine ย is 20cmx10cm however you can also use a larger pan for a slightly lower-in-height that will look just as great). Place in freezer to set while making next layer…
Caramel Layer:
1 cup dates, soaked in hot water for 3+ hours (for best results I soak mine overnight)
3 tbsp almond or *peanut butter (preferably either home made or made with no extra ingredients bar a little salt)
1 tsp vanilla extract
a pinch of cracked sea salt (if the peanut or almond butter is unsalted)
reserved water from soaking the dates
Drain the soaking water from the dates into a cup. Put the dates, peanut/almond butter, vanilla extract and salt (if using) into the food processor with 2 tbsp of the reserved soaking water. Blitz the mixture until nice and smooth. Spread this evenly over the now set bottom layer and whip the tin back into the freezer.
Chocolate topping:
2 avocados
5 tbsp honey
4 tbsp cocoa
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp coconut oil (or *butter or ghee)
pinch of cracked sea salt
Put all the ingredients in the food processor. Blitz until well combined and smooth. Taste test – add more honey if required. Or a pinch more of salt to bring out the flavour if it’s a little bland.
Spread evenly over the caramel layer.
To finish:
1/4 cup nuts, roasted but unsalted – easiest to briefly roast or toast your own. (I LOVE using hazelnuts because they’re one of chocolate’s BFFs but peanuts, almonds, cashews…. any nut, can work perfectly in it’s place)
Roughly chop the nuts then sprinkle over the top
Return the slice to the freezer until ready to serve.
Chop into small bite sized squares and enjoy!
*using rolled oats or butter in place of coconut and coconut oil would mean the final result would not be gluten or dairy free or true paleo however would still be deliciously nutritious!
*use almond butter over peanut butter if you stick to a paleo diet
Note: The base softens quickly so it’s best if eaten from the freezer or shortly afterwards.
16 thoughts on “Triple Layer Chocolate Caramel Slice (Gluten, Dairy & Refined Sugar Free and Paleo)

  1. Summer says:

    Oh my goodness this sounds divine! Although I’m hanging out for the peppermint recipe you’ve hinted is still to come… ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Rachel says:

    Beth, you are a baking genius. Seriously. You are. I haven’t even tried it yet— it’s still in the freezer— and I know this is going to be good.

    • hungrycub says:

      THANKS!!! Let me know how you like it! I had to stop myself from making it aaaall the time because it just got a little embarrassing explaining to Doug why there was none left when he got home…

    • hungrycub says:

      Hi, I usually soak them in however much it takes to juuuuust cover them in whatever bowl or I’m using to soak them in, it’s about 3/4 cup in my bowl ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

